News AboutUs Releases Bandcamp Distro & Used
Shop Links ContactUs

It was early 2013 when a band that noone had heard of in recent times, appeared out of nowhere! It was a message, some phone calls and then a listening session which was arranged to hear to their songs for the first time. That session led Geheimnis Records to include one of their tracks in the "Fruits Of Wrath" compilation, which was under preparation at that time. The band's name was "Winter Watercolors" and they had been very active from 1984 - 1988, and had participated in various concerts in Greece and abroad. Their music was a mixture of dark and indie pop elements, quite unusual in the Greek alternative scene of that period. Their only release back then was a track in a Spanish compilation with numerous other bands. All this background and their exceptional music, led Geheimnis Records to schedule the band's first ever release after almost 30 years.
Their story is short yet quite amazing.
They started rehearsing in the Spring of 1983, under the name "Ends With The Sea". The founding members were : Antonis Koukios (guitar, lead vocals), Platon Tsoulos (drums, percussion) and Spiros Anagnostou (bass). They performed at various gigs in Athens (at "Skiahtro" club, "Broof", "Vitreau" and a lot of festivals), playing their earliest songs, "La Morte", "Years", "Suicide", "Take Me", "Mirrors Inside Mirrors" , all of them composed by Antonis Koukios. The following year, Spiros Anagnostou left to form "Not 2 Without 3", while George Koukios (brother of Antonis Koukios, and later on founding member of "Morel") became his replacement in the band. Unfortunately, during the Autumn of 1984 the band broke up. 1985 : a new beginning for the band, with a different name. "Winter Watercolors" (inspired by an Antonis Koukios' poem). New members were added : Vasilis Nakis (synths, composition), Dimitris Dimitriou (bass, backing vocals, composition) and Manos Konstantinidis (guitar, backing vocals, percussion, composition). The new members brought new fresh ideas. Their sound was enriched with various pop, jazz and funk elements, taking its definitive, compact and solid form, as can be heard on the record. They started their live appearances once again (clubs like "Cat's Meow", "Skiahtro", "Tracks", "127db", "Swing", "Vitreau" hosted and supported them). In 1987 they played as the support band to established Greek bands and artists of that period, like "Last Drive", Pavlos Sidiropoulos, "Tripes" and Dimitris Poulikakos. Their first ever studio recordings took place in 1987 at "Studio + Ena" and remained in their original reel-to-reel tape format till our days. "Mirrors Inside Mirrors", "La Morte", "Time After Time", "I Suppose". They appeared in various radio shows, interviews and reviews for their live gigs, while they participated in "Morel's" first album presentation at "Cat's Meow" club. The same year they were chosen by the Ministry of Culture (along with "Lefki Simfonia" and "Rodondo Rocks") to represent Greece at the 2nd new artists Biennale Festival in Barcelona, Spain. They received some very positive reviews from the Spanish media, and were congratulated in person by Spain's Ministry of Culture. Just before their trip to Barcelona, they recorded "La Morte" and "Across The Water" at "Studio 111". "La Morte" was chosen by the Spanish organizers to be included in the official LP compilation of the 2nd Biennale. In 1988 they recorded "It's Too Late" and "Alibi" at "Studio Tracks" and participated at Italy's Biennale Festival , which took place in Bari. They were praised enthusiastically by the Italian media, and hosted on Italian television and radio shows. After their return to Greece, they played their last gig at "An" club in Athens and thereafter disbanded permanently.
28 years after their last show, Geheimnis Records with its 24th release, presents the complete studio recordings of the band + 2 songs (from one of their live gigs in 1984) from the "Ends With The Sea" era, in 288 hand-numbered copies, 179 of them in black and 109 in transparent orange vinyls. All songs have been remastered by Manos Konstantinidis and mastered for vinyl by Chris Manolitsis. Includes insert with lyrics, photos and a bio/history of the band.

First 50 copies come with an additional cd-r album (with the same track list as on vinyl).

Release Date:
Available at 15 €SOLD OUT
Listen to the music on Youtube

This site is best viewed on Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox. Created by GB49%vol ®